Featured Photographer // Maria Angerilli Photography

Maria Angerill is such a talent and such a sweet and lovely person inside and out. Her work is so organic and draws us right in, we can’t wait for you to get to know her more!

Maria Angerilli Photography

website // facebook  // google +

adayinthelife 001

Tell us a little bit about yourself! 

​Well, first off…I don’t like talking about myself – but if I must…..I live in the Lower Mainland of British Columbia, in Coquitlam (a suburb of Vancouver). I love love love love taking photographs….but have a hard time calling myself a ‘photographer’ (that was even hard to type!). I’m momma to two wonderful kids, and wifey to a pretty fantastic husband – they are my lovelies. What else???? Good food makes me just as happy as taking pictures.​

adayinthelife 010

Something unique about you? 

I have double jointed fingers….on long shoots my fingers cramp up – one day I think they are going to freeze and lock on to my camera for good! That and I will always plan a vacation around what I can photograph and what I can eat 🙂

adayinthelife 009

What areas do you serve?

I’m based out of Coquitlam, but service the greater ​Vancouver area.

adayinthelife 008

How did you get started in photography? 

​I’ve always loved taking pictures – from high school on, I was always the official photographer for family and friend events. When I had my first baby, I picked up my first DSLR and was determined to learn how to photograph in manual mode. I took one film photography course and then just shot like a mad woman and practiced a lot! Capturing my kids’ everyday lives is what really pushed me to learn more about photography.  I started shooting for others a couple of years ago – clients’ reactions when they see their pictures…such a great feeling.

adayinthelife 007

Describe your style in 3 words. 

 real, intimate, unfussy
What has been your biggest challenge on your photography journey? 

​I would say my confidence. It’s hard to not compare yourself to others and it’s easy to get down on myself and think I’m not good enough. But I’m getting better at not comparing and just shooting what I love and how I love. On the technical side….I swear, for the life of me, I can’t seem to master taking a level picture…maybe my head is on crooked!

adayinthelife 006

Tell us about one photog crush and why! 

​Oh, there are so many I admire. But my first photog crush was Bee Chalmers Photography. I just love how she captures families….her photography really pleases me.

One piece of advice you’d give anyone starting out. 

Shoot lots of what you love and shoot everyday if you can…practice, practice, practice!​

adayinthelife 005

Favorite lens. 

I don’t have a huge inventory…but of my 3 prime lenses, I use my 50mm 1.4 the most.​

Favorite subject to shoot. 

My kids!! Client wise….families with young children.

adayinthelife 004

Your next big photography investment. 

35mm 1.4

adayinthelife 003

What will you be doing 1 year from now? 

Hopefully more of the same!! ​

adayinthelife 002

Leave a Reply

