Featured Photographer // Erin Hensley Photography

We’re so excited to welcome Erin Hensley of Erin Hensley Photography as our guest judge for this week’s photo challenge! Erin’s work is simply beautiful and we love the way she captures light and emotion in her images. Let’s get to know her a little more!

 

HA3A5696-copyErin Hensley Photography 

website// facebook // google + 

Tell us a little bit about yourself! 

I am a storytelling lifestyle photographer, a wife and mother. My love of photography started long before having children, but they have taken me to a whole new world of photography. Before having children, I solely enjoyed photographing the land, never people, but they changed that. Between my passion for seeing and capturing the beauty in all things, having children who have given me a path to follow, and our travels both at home and overseas, becoming totally enveloped in this art was inevitable.

I’ve spent the last two and a half years refining my skills as a photographer and documenting my own children’s lives. Rarely posed. Just pure, natural moments caught on camera. I strive to create honest, raw and emotive photographs that will bring back a flood of memories when looked back upon years down the road. Through capturing my own children in a way that lets them be themselves without the stresses of being posed, I’ve realized that my true passion in portrait photography is capturing real moments. 

HA3A5218-copySomething unique about you? 

Well, our travels certainly bring a uniqueness to my photography. Iʼve been very fortunate to be able to go to some really interesting places. I take my camera with me wherever I go because I never know what I might see. 🙂 

HA3A9831-copyWhat areas do you serve? 

Well at the moment I am in Idaho and have not been taking sessions. I am about to move back overseas to the UAE (United Arab Emirates) and hope to take a session here and there. 

 

HA3A9342-copyHow did you get started in photography? 

I have always loved taking photos, since I was just a kid with a polaroid. Once I had children, I started to take it a little more seriously and now I could not imagine ever putting the camera down! 

HA3A1085-copy

Describe your style in 3 words. 

raw, honest, emotive.

 

HA3A7332-copyWhat has been your biggest challenge on your photography journey? 

I think my biggest challenge has been the fact that we have moved so much (every year for the past 3 years and a few moves before that!). I really wanted to be taking on sessions full time but with all the uncertainty and moving and having to live without my husband for a good portion of the time, it just wasnʼt feasible. I saw othersʼ businesses taking off and I wanted to be doing that too! But then I realized that it was ok if it took me longer to get to that point. Itʼs ok to just enjoy my kids being little and capturing their daily life. Iʼve gotten to see a lot more of the world than most people do and have the opportunity to continue seeing and experiencing more. Now that I have accepted that business can wait, I can just enjoy where I am now. 

HA3A1805-copy

Tell us about one photog crush and why! 

Brooke Bikneris. Her realness just shines through her photos. You can tell what kind of person she by the way she photographs people, especially her girls, and she is good people. 😉 

 

HA3A0124-copyOne piece of advice you’d give anyone starting out. 

Slow down. I strongly believe that taking your time to hone your skills is an important part of the process. Practice practice practice and find what it is you love to shoot. Once you do that, everything can fall into place much easier. 

 

HA3A4605-copyFavorite lens. 

35mm hands down. I have the 2.0 and for the price, it is a really great lens. I do plan to upgrade this one someday but I really love this one. I love the perspective I get for my lifestyle shots, and I love that it can be used for landscape shots if itʼs all i have on me and I see something I want to photograph. 

Favorite subject to shoot. 

Landscapes and children. Landscapes are where my love of photography started, but of course I love photographing my kids. Itʼs even better when I can combine the two. 😉 

HA3A4921-copyYour next big photography investment. 

Hoping for an iMac somewhat soon! Weʼve moved/traveled a lot over the last few years so a macbook has been most convenient but Iʼd love to have a desktop! If not that then I will most likely upgrade my 35mm to the 35L. 

 

What will you be doing 1 year from now? 

Such a hard question! Our plans have changed so much that itʼs really hard to say. But I am pretty certain we will still be in Abu Dhabi. Soaking up the beaches and traveling to interesting places. I hope that I will be able to take a few sessions here and there but right now, I have decided to focus on my family and putting memories down in print. There will be time for a booming business later. 🙂 

Leave a comment